i’m tearin it up!

i get such great compliments at the beginning improv class…

this one guy said it’s worth waking up in the morning just to hear me play…

ray says “nice” and “good” for my transitions.. he says that there were 3 of us that make the chord changes without upsetting what we are playing… we just move naturally to the new notes…

we’re trying to start a band.. i keep calling it bobby and the beginning improv class… or CCBDT.. haha… i like bobby bic!

i love jons stories in big band… we are coming up to the concert and we have 7 or 8 charts..

theres like inifinite things to work on in the practice room… 1 hr isn’t enough… but what i realized is that i need to work out solos ahead of time… i’ve got my scales decent now, but the reason why i rock during improv class is b/c i take time to analyse stuff, and i need to do that for ALL songs i play.. until i can do it without thinking!

ray doesnt like the blues scale… forcing notes down the chord prog…

(thats what kenny g does..lol)…

when we solo, he has a couple styles of comping
– stop time (on the 1)
– time
– globetrotters (1+ 2and)
– sidewinder (1 + 2and) up a half step

ray told me that playing chords went out in the 40s… we do scales now…

i love it when he says “great playing” and “beautiful”…

haha.. i think too much…

ray had me play my solo at the end of class today… I felt like i was on FIRE!!… haha, i mean how hard is it to really go from C to F haha… 4 bars of each…

next class he’s doing:

F13 | F13 | F13 | F13
Bb13 | Bb13 | F13 | F13

Then the next class, he’ll add the last 4 bars of the blues…

Going last, makes a difference for me :)… I use the ideas i get from other people !!!

Ray liked my transitions.. after class, he said “good playing donna.. you got good ears!”

I realized that i get lost in the music, when i get lost in the music…

like i get so wrapped up in what i’m playing… it feels awesome.. then i start listening to whats going on around me.. where it’s all going.. BUT, i dont have the skill to do that and stay along with the chord changes… so i taught myself to take mind off of what chord i’m on, and to go off of just listening…

it’s hard for me to get into it… AND do it right…

but that will change over time!

Leave a Reply

